How To Make Super Easy Low Cal and Low Fat Home Fries


One of the most common dietary downfalls is French fries. They are dietary suicide for all of the fat and the salt. Another big problem is commercially prepared hash browns. I am here to tell you that you can prepare potatoes at home with a much lower fat and salt content and actually make them healthy. I must first explain the science of French Fries to you.

     
     
     

Commercially prepared French fries or hash browns are soaked in running water to remove the potato starch. What happens is that this process makes the potato a virtual sponge, sucking up the oil that they are fried in. Also salt will dissolve much more readily and also be sucked into the potato yielding additional flavor. This is why French fries or hash browns or hash brown patties are so greasy. They are literally oozing grease that they have absorbed. I have a magic trick that you can do at home to prevent this so that you can have your potatoes and eat them to without guilt.

In stead of making traditional fries, make home fries that are sliced potato rounds with the skins left on. You can make home fries that are fast, easy, non greasy that are crisp on the outside and yet tender on the inside. Here is how:

You use one large russet potato per person. You microwave it like you are making a baked potato. Instead of cooking it all the way through to a tender fluffy baked potato, you cook it part way or about three fourths of the way. It is tender enough to slice easily with a serrated knife but is not tender to crumbly like a baked potato. You have to experiment with your particular microwave. A rule of thumb is if it takes 5 minutes to make a baked potato, you set the micro for about 3 and half minutes. You then immediately slice the potato while it is hot into quarter inch rounds. These rounds will be steaming. Two things happen here to your benefit. The starch is retained in the potato and the potato is steaming still containing moisture inside the potato. As you probably know, oil and water don’t mix. Between retaining the starch which seals the surface of the potato, you also have residual moisture that will keep the potato from absorbing oil. I cook the home fries in olive oil which is a rich and flavorful oil filled with anti-oxidants which are heart healthy. You cook the potatoes until they are golden on one side about 4-5 minutes and then turn them once and fry on the back side until that surface is golden. You will find that the fries are sealed and don’t absorb any grease. You immediately salt them when you remove them but again, since the surface is sealed, they won’t absorb salt and much less salt will stick. You cover the bottom of the pan with enough olive oil to have the oil be about one half inch deep. You can keep and filter this oil and re-use it again and again, because once your family tastes these fries, they will ask for them over and over.

There are two additional upsides to this article. Putting frozen potatoes in oil inevitably involves spattering of hot oil. This is of course dangerous, especially for children. My technique does not cause the potatoes to spatter. My method is far cheaper than purchasing frozen potatoes from the freezer case. You can check prices for yourself from frozen potatoes to individual Russet potatoes purchased in bulk.

Finally, by leaving the skins on, you add additional flavor but also a lot of nutrients that are outlined from this direct quote from a website called: The Wise Geek:

The potato , as well as the potato skin, is a great source of vitamin C, vitamin B6, copper , potassium , manganese , and dietary fiber. Potatoes and potato skins contain 18% of the recommended daily allowance of iron and 7.5 grams of protein which is rarely found in vegetables in such high concentrations. Potato skins also contain a variety of phytonutrients which are a natural source of antioxidants that help to prevent cellular deterioration of the body. The phytonutrients found in the potato skins as well as the flesh include carotenoids, flavonoids , and caffeic acid.

Potatoes are classified as a tuber , meaning bulb or root, which contains a protein called patatin specific to these types of vegetables. Patatin also works as an effective antioxidant as well as lowering blood pressure. Overall, potato skins help to provide protection against heart disease and cancer .

60 Responses to How To Make Super Easy Low Cal and Low Fat Home Fries

  1. I have just started making use of WordPress but haven’t got clue how you can backup my site. Is it simple ?. Is there a plugin or something ??. I’m Really frightened I’m going to lose all my data. Any support appreciated. Bookmarked.

  2. Deloise Thew says:

    Great stuff.I’d like to suggest taking a look at such as something like cheeseburger. What exactly are you looking for though?

  3. Good thorough ideas here.I’d like to suggest taking a look at things like sausages. What do you think?

  4. James Hill says:

    Very efficiently written post. It will be supportive to everyone who employess it, as well as yours truly :). Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  5. Awsome info and right to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to employ some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  6. Excellent info once again. I am looking forward for more updates:)

  7. Hello, maybe this is not on theme but anyhow, I have been browsing about your site and it looks truly neat. impassioned about your activity. I’m building a new web log and hard put to make it appear great, and provide really good content. I have observed a lot on your site and I look forward to more updates and will be coming back.

  8. Would you be keen on exchanging hyperlinks?

  9. I intended to send you this tiny note in order to say thanks over again for all the beautiful strategies you’ve contributed in this article. This has been quite particularly open-handed of people like you to allow easily all many individuals could possibly have made available as an e book to help with making some cash for themselves, most importantly considering the fact that you might well have done it in case you considered necessary. Those concepts likewise worked to become a fantastic way to know that the rest have a similar fervor really like my own to see much more in terms of this condition. I believe there are many more fun times in the future for individuals that view your website.

  10. Thanks a lot for providing individuals with an extraordinarily splendid opportunity to read critical reviews from this web site. It is usually so ideal and packed with a good time for me personally and my office fellow workers to search your website minimum thrice every week to study the newest guides you have. And of course, I am just certainly astounded with the impressive methods served by you. Certain 3 tips in this posting are undoubtedly the most suitable I have ever had.

  11. Malcolm Bob says:

    Thank you for taking the time to publish such a detailed and informative write-up.

  12. You have some helpful ideas! Maybe I should consider doing this by myself.

  13. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  14. Thank you for each of your labor on this website. Debby really loves setting aside time for research and it’s really simple to grasp why. My partner and i hear all regarding the lively means you present useful tactics on this web site and as well foster participation from some other people on this article and our own princess is undoubtedly starting to learn a lot of things. Take advantage of the rest of the new year. You are doing a glorious job.

  15. Hey Immobilizer
    Glad to be of assistance and making a difference in your life. thanks for your comments
    John Wilder

  16. Hey Youth Ministry
    If you would comment on the blog page rather than my profile page, I would know which blog you were referring to.
    Thanks
    John Wilder

  17. Hey Constructeur
    I try and give usefuil iknfo to those who need it. Thanks for your comments
    John Wilder

  18. Kvaliteetne says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this website needs way more consideration. I’ll in all probability be once more to learn rather more, thanks for that info.

  19. No question to ask, you’re great writer and blogger, you know well your subject matter, how I wish all blogger write like the way you write.

  20. I truly wanted to write down a simple remark so as to thank you for some of the magnificent ways you are writing on this website. My extensive internet search has at the end of the day been rewarded with high-quality content to talk about with my companions. I would admit that most of us visitors actually are undoubtedly endowed to exist in a useful site with very many outstanding people with very helpful tips. I feel truly lucky to have encountered your entire site and look forward to so many more thrilling times reading here. Thanks a lot once again for all the details.

  21. Lila Dine says:

    I typed a very detailed response to this post but for some reason the box ate the whole thing. You might want to think about a new provider that is more accountable.

  22. My neighbor and I were just debating this specific topic, he is usually looking for to show me incorrect. Your view on this is nice and exactly how I actually feel. I just now mailed him this web site to indicate him your individual view. After trying over your website I guide marked and will likely be coming again to read your new posts!

  23. Resources these as the 1 you mentioned here will be extremely helpful to myself! I will publish a hyperlink to this page on my particular weblog. I am certain my site site visitors will uncover that fairly advantageous.

  24. Dude, please tell me that youre heading to create more. I notice you havent written another weblog for a while (Im just catching up myself). Your weblog is just as well important to become missed. Youve acquired so substantially to say, these knowledge about this subject it would be a shame to see this weblog disappear. The internet needs you, man!

  25. Good to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me. Well this post that i’ve been waited for so lengthy. I will need this write-up to complete my assignment within the university, and it has same subject together with your post. Thanks, great share.

  26. Hey there, just stumbled upon your blog through Google, and found it to be really informative. I’m gonna keep an eye on this one. Cheers!

  27. Hey – good blog, just looking about some blogs, seems a quite great platform you might be utilizing. I’m currently using WordPress for a couple of of my web sites but looking to change one of them more than to a platform comparable to yours as being a trial run. Anything in particular you’d suggest about it?

  28. I’d prefer to thank you for that efforts you’ve produced in writing this post. I’m hoping the exact same best function from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to begin my own BlogEngine weblog now.

  29. Brandi Tonti says:

    That is a beneficial weblog article and I defer to you what you could have said right here. I have already subscribed on your RSS feed in Firefox and will probably be your normal reader. Many thanks for the time in writing the publish….

  30. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. fotografia architektury It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  31. Trykkeri says:

    I have read a few good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. Trykkeri Oslo I surprise how much effort you put to make such a wonderful informative site.

  32. Thanks a whole lot for providing individuals with an extremely breathtaking chance to read critical reviews out of this site. It really is very brilliant and the , packed with fun for me personally personally and my office co-workers to look your website nearly thrice in a week to discover the latest secrets you might have. Of course, Im also usually motivated for the wonderful suggestions you serve. Selected 2 points about this page come in truth the most effective weve had.

  33. Beatiful layout! How have you get this design?

Leave a Reply

